Skip to toolbar

CanadianGoldens.com

Golden Breeder Allen Bain?

Home Forums General Golden Breeder Allen Bain?

This topic contains 80 replies, has 39 voices, and was last updated by  E.Ramsey 1 month ago.

• Author

Aurorelle
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m new to owning a dog so I want to make sure I’m doing it right (I have cats but their much less high maintenance). I called many breeders and I settled with one named Allen or Al Bain in Campbellford, ON. He seemed to know his stuff and claims to have over 60 years of experience. He gave me an 8 year guarantee on hip and heart problems, and claims to train support and seeing eye dogs. I couldn’t find much about him online, except for a thread on this forum from 4 years ago, so I thought I’d try asking again. Anyway, has anyone heard of Al Bain or have any experience with him?

Thanks a lot!

cheslyn1
    Participant

What is his kennel name??

Personally I would do some research and digging – I know not everyone is computer savy but if he is a good breeder his kennel name should come up in show or trial results, etc. I also am not comfortable with someone with a 8 year guarantee…sounds super wonderful but 90% of hereditary problems show up in the first years of a dogs life (other than 1 eye problem that I know of)

cheslyn1
    Participant

Hmmm- did a google search…I would strongly suggest he is a backyard type breeder, not CKC registered – but that might not matter to you. A year ago, he only offered 6 year guarantees LOL.

You will definitely want to visit the dogs, his home, see the contract, etc.

Aurorelle
    Participant

Well, if most problems show up in the first few years doesn’t that make the guarantee more effective? I would be more worried if they showed up after 8 years..

Mom2Maddie
    Participant